自然

十大最奇怪的沙漠植物

沙漠植物

沙漠是地球上气候最恶劣的地方,其特点是缺乏降雨而不是温度。 因此,有冷热沙漠,每个栖息地都有不同的植物在那里繁衍生息。 沙漠植物非常适合在很少的水的情况下生存,并且通常有厚厚的球茎茎来储存水,以防以后无法使用。 它们通常也有刺而不是叶子,以尽量减少蒸腾造成的水分流失。 这是最奇怪的沙漠植物的清单。

奇怪的沙漠植物

1. 千岁兰

这种沙漠植物原产于纳米比亚沙漠,寿命超过1500年。 它只有两片叶子直接从植物的基部长出来,它们反复分叉,使植物看起来有很多叶子。 这种植物的生长速度非常缓慢,用于繁殖的球果的生产速度也非常缓慢。 它有一个不寻常的根系,可以到达地下深处的水源,帮助植物在低降雨量的条件下生存。 另外,阅读关于惊人的 沙漠景观 在世界上。

这种沙漠植物由一根茎、两片叶子和根组成,可以达到 20 英寸高和 6.6 英尺长,然而,最大的记录标本是 6 英尺高和 28 英尺长。 这种植物只长出两片叶子,在沙漠植物的整个生命周期中都会生长。 沙漠植物有很长的主根,可以到达隐藏在深处的水,然而,它吸收了雾和露水的大部分水分。 开花从夏季到秋季,雄性和雌性物种都会产生大量的花蜜,吸引黄蜂、树虫和苍蝇进行授粉。

相关新闻: 10年发现的2018个新植物物种

千岁兰

图片来源: 维基媒体

2.猴面包树

猴面包树是在非洲、阿拉伯和澳大利亚的干旱地区发现的一种奇怪的沙漠植物,这种植物的数量最多的是马达加斯加。 它有一个非常厚实的肉质树干,可以储存超过 100,000 升的水,以便在这种树生长的地区常见的干旱条件下生存。 这种植物是一种被子植物,这意味着它产生种子作为一种繁殖方法,是世界上最古老的被子植物之一。 另外,请阅读 致命的食虫植物.

一种奇怪的沙漠植物喜欢在炎热干燥的林地中茁壮成长,在多石和排水良好的土壤中,以及降雨量少的地区。 沙漠植物不产生年轮,因此很难用放射性碳测年法确定植物的年龄,但据信猴面包树的寿命很长。 有一个有 1000 年历史的标本,其中一个在南非,其年代约为 6,000 年。 树干可容纳多达 120,000 升的水,以适应恶劣的环境条件。

猴面包树

3.桶装仙人掌

这种沙漠植物存在于美国西南部炎热的沙漠中,是该大陆上发现的最大的沙漠植物。 它以其不寻常的圆柱形形状命名,看起来像一个桶。 它可以长到 10 米(超过 30 英尺)高,刺长达 4 英寸。 这种植物的花是橙色的,直接长在肉质的茎上。 通过利用其茎中储存的水,这种植物可以在地下存活长达六年。

沙漠植物

相关新闻: 世界上生长最快的 10 种植物和树木

4. 非洲水螅

这种长相怪异的植物原产于非洲沙漠,看起来更像是一种大型真菌而不是植物。 它有一个非常粗的茎,里面储存着水,根本没有叶子。 它有深棕色的茎和橙色的花朵,是季节性的。 花散发出刺鼻的气味来吸引蜜蜂授粉。 这种植物不是很引人注目,除非它开出鲜艳的橙色花朵。

从外观上看,它看起来像真菌,只有在花朵打开时才能区分。 沙漠植物无叶,呈棕灰色,然而,当植物生长时,它会变成深灰色至黑色。 该植物物种并不濒临灭绝,但也不容易遇到,主要见于与物种有关的半干旱植被中。 大戟。

非洲水螅

图片来源: 维基媒体

5. 仙人掌仙人掌

亚利桑那州炎热的沙漠是这种沙漠植物的家园。 它没有叶子,肉质厚实的茎和大刺,这种仙人掌可以长到20米长。 它有很深的路线可以探测地面寻找水源,高效的节水技术帮助植物存活了 200 多年。 这种植物是被子植物,仙人掌的花是亚利桑那州的州花。 美国一种奇怪的沙漠植物和最大的仙人掌物种可以活 100-200 年。 沙漠植物会根据一年中的含水量而收缩或膨胀。 仙人掌的花朵是亚利桑那州的州花。 你也会喜欢阅读最 地球上的有毒植物.

仙人掌仙人掌

6. 跳跃 Cholla

这种植物,也被称为泰迪熊 cholla,在美国西南部的沙漠中发现,可以很容易地从主茎中长出的大量树枝以及密密麻麻的大刺中识别出来。 由于荆棘,这种植物的茎显得柔软而模糊,因此给它起了误导性的名字。 大量这些植物一起生长,形成了一片小森林,而荆棘帮助这些植物保存水分并避开可能试图吃掉它的食草动物。 它在五月开花。

沙漠植物没有叶子,而是有长刺,可以长到 0.5 到 1 英寸,通常从单个乳晕长出大约 6 到 12 个刺。 整个植物都覆盖着刺,它还通过充当盾牌来防止植物过热,并将饥饿的食草动物保持在安全距离内。 该植物通常在二月至三月开花,花朵呈黄绿色,出现在树枝的末端。

跳跃全罗

7. 棒球场

Euphorbia obese,又称棒球植物,见于南非的卡鲁沙漠,因其形状奇特,形似棒球而得名。 这种植物在野外已经灭绝,仅在植物园和实验室中存活。 厚实的圆形茎有助于植物储存大量的水分,为干旱年份做准备,这使植物能够在没有任何外部水源的情况下存活数年。 这种植物的花从球形茎的中心出现并聚集在一起。 我们还建议您阅读有关有效的 药用植物.

沙漠植物会产生寿命很短的原始叶子,并且会产生叶子而不是刺。 像其他沙漠植物一样,它的主根逐渐变细,可以从地下吸收水分和养分。 它有一个杯形的灰绿色花卉排列,称为cyathium,主要在夏季开花。 该植物有一个微妙的卖点,有助于授粉过程。 棒球植物是一种长寿的多年生植物。

棒球场

图片来源: 维基媒体

8. 沙漠铁木

这种沙漠植物看起来像甜豌豆树,有叶子和树枝,不像其他仙人掌。 它以其茎和叶的蓝灰色命名,主要分布在北美的索诺兰沙漠。 这种植物生长速度缓慢,寿命长达1500年以上。 为了节约用水和保护自己免受酷热,它在夏季会落叶,在早春开花。 这种濒临灭绝的植物在西班牙被称为 palo fierro,为许多野生动物提供栖息地和资源。

沙漠铁木

图片来源: 维基媒体

9.银火炬仙人掌

这是在玻利维亚和阿根廷寒冷的沙漠中发现的最奇怪的沙漠植物之一,以其独特的形状和外观而得名。 这种植物生长在高达 3 米的高柱上,上面覆盖着密密麻麻的银色长刺,使植物呈现银色。 这种仙人掌在夏末开花,花朵呈鲜红色。

图片来源: 摄影师吉姆(Flickr)

10. 沃勒米松

这种极其稀有的沙漠植物被称为活化石,因为它属于一个距今已有200亿多年历史的裸子植物科,是该科最后幸存的成员之一。 它仅在澳大利亚的沙漠中发现,并带有锥体来繁殖。 所有植物都有雄性和雌性球果和一个用来储存水的粗茎。 这种植物可以在沙漠中发现的极热和极冷温度下生存。

 

图片来源: 维基媒体

沙漠植物 是真正的自然奇观,因为它们是唯一一种适应极端情况的植物,它们已经放弃了叶子——几乎所有植物的特征——有利于荆棘。 其中一些植物已经进化为具有奇怪的形状或颜色,它具有特定的目的,例如保护免受恶劣天气、吸引传粉媒介和阻止动物进入。

地球和世界是一个你可以找到我们地球的不同已知和未知事实的地方。 该网站还将涵盖与世界有关的事物。 本网站致力于为知识和娱乐目的提供事实和信息。

联系我们

如果您有任何建议和疑问,您可以通过以下详细信息与我们联系。 我们将很高兴收到您的来信。

markofotolog [at] gmail.com

亚马逊披露

EarthNWorld.com 是 Amazon Services LLC Associates 计划的参与者,该计划是一项附属广告计划,旨在为网站提供一种通过广告和链接到 Amazon.com 来赚取广告费的方法。 Amazon、Amazon 徽标、AmazonSupply 和 AmazonSupply 徽标是 Amazon.com, Inc. 或其附属公司的商标。

到达顶点

Nature

Top 10 Most Strange Desert Plants

desert plants

Advertisement

Deserts are places with some of the harshest climates on Earth and are defined by the lack of rainfall rather than the temperature. Hence there are hot and cold deserts and each of these habitats has a different set of plants that thrive there. Desert plants are very well adapted to surviving with very less water and usually have thick bulbous stems to store water in case it is unavailable later. They also commonly have thorns instead of leaves to minimise water loss through transpiration. Here is a list of the strangest desert plants.

Strange Desert Plants

1. Welwitschia Mirabilis

This desert plant is native to the Namibian desert and has a very long lifespan of over 1500 years. It has only two leaves that grow directly out of the base of the plant and they bifurcate repeatedly making it look like the plant has many leaves. The growth rate of this plant is extremely slow and the production of cones for reproduction also happens at a very slow pace. It has an unusual root system that can reach water sources located deep underground and help the plant survive in the conditions of low rainfall. Also, read about amazing desert landscapes in the world.

The desert plant consist of a stem, two leaves and root that can reach upto 20 inches in height and 6.6 feet in length, however, the largest recorded specimen was 6 feet in height and 28 feet in length. The plant only develops two leaves that grow throughout the life of the desert plant. The desert plant has a long taproot to reach water hidden deep inside, however, it absorbs the majority of the water from the fog and dew. Flowering takes place from summer to autumn and both male and female species produce a good amount of nectar that attracts wasps, tree bugs and flies for pollination.

Welwitschia Mirabilis

Advertisement

ImageSource: Wikimedia

2. Baobab tree

Baobab is a genus of strange desert plants found in the arid regions of Africa, Arabia, and Australia through the highest population of this plant is seen in Madagascar. It has a very thick fleshy trunk that can store more than 100,000 litres of water to survive during the drought-like conditions that are common in the areas where this tree grows. This plant is an angiosperm meaning it produces seeds as a method of reproduction and is one of the oldest angiosperm plants in the world. Also, read about deadly carnivorous plants.

One of the strange desert plants loves to thrive in hot, dry woodland on stony and well-drained soils with the areas of low rainfall. The desert plants don’t produce annual growth rings., so its hard to determine the age of the plant with radiocarbon dating, however, it is believed that the lifespan of the baobab is very long. There is a specimen that is 1000 years old and one is in South Africa was dated at around 6,000 years old. The trunk of the tree can hold upto 120,000 litres of water that is required for the adaptation from the harsh environmental conditions.

Baobab tree

3. Barrel cactus

This desert plant is found in the hot deserts of Southwestern America and is the largest desert plant found on this continent. It is named after its unusual cylindrical shape that looks like a barrel. It can grow up to 10 meters (more than 30 feet) tall and has thorns as long as 4 inches. The flowers of this plant are orange in colour and grow directly on the fleshy stem. This plant can survive for up to six years out of the ground by utilising the stored water in its stem.

desert plants

Related: Top 10 Fastest Growing Plants And Trees In The World

4. Hydnora Africana

This weird looking plant is native to the desert of Africa and looks more like a large fungus species than a plant. It has a very thick stem in which it stores water and no leaves at all. It has a dark brown coloured stem and orange coloured flowers that are seasonal. The flowers emit a pungent odour to attract bees for pollination. This plant is not very noticeable unless it bears bright orange coloured flowers.

Talking about the appearance, it looks similar to fungi and it can only distinguished when the flower is opened. The desert plant of leafless and is brown-grey in colour, however, when the plant grows it turns dark grey to black. The plant species is not endangered, however, it is also not easily encountered and mostly seen in semi-arid vegetation which is associated with species of Euphorbia.

Hydnora Africana

Image Source: Wikimedia

5. Saguaro cactus

The hot desert of Arizona is home to this desert plant. It has no leaves, a thick fleshy stem and large thorns and this cactus can grow up to 20 meters in length. It has very deep routes that probe the ground for water sources and the efficient water conservation techniques help the plant survive for more than 200 years. This plant is an angiosperm and the flower of the Saguaro cactus is the state flower of Arizona. One of the strange desert plants and largest cactus species in the U.S. can live between 100-200 years. The desert plant can shrink or swell depending on the water content they have over the course of the year. The saguaro’s bloom is Arizona’s state flower. You will also love to read about most poisonous plants on Earth.

Saguaro cactus

6. Jumping Cholla

This plant, also known as the teddy bear cholla is found in the deserts of Southwestern United States and can be easily identified by a large number of branches that emerge out of the main stem as well as the thickly packed large thorns. Because of the thorns, the stem of this plant appears soft and fuzzy, thus giving it the misleading name. A large number of these plants grow together giving rise to a small forest and the thorns help these plants conserve water and ward away herbivores that may try to eat it. It bears flowers in May.

The desert plant doesn’t have leaves instead they have long spines that can grow upto 0.5 to 1 inch and approximately 6 to 12 spines usually grow from a single areole. The entire plant covers with spines and it also prevents the plant from overheating by acting as a shield and keeps hungry herbivores on a safe distance. The plant usually blooms from February to March and flowers are yellow-greenish coloured and appear at the end of the branches.

Jumping Cholla

7. Baseball plant

Euphorbia obese, also known as the baseball plant is found in the Karoo desert of South Africa and is named after its peculiar shape that looks like a baseball. This plant is extinct in the wild and survives only in botanical gardens and labs. The thick round stem helps the plant store plenty of water in preparation for the dry years and this enables the plant to survive without any external source of water for years. The flowers of this plant emerge from the centre of the spherical stem and are bunched together. We also recommend you to read about effective medicinal plants.

The desert plant produces rudiment leaves that have a very short lifespan and it produces leaves instead of spines. Like other desert plants, it has tapering tap root to take water and nutrients from the ground. It has a cup-shaped greyish-green floral arrangement called cyathium and mostly blooms in summer. The plant has a delicate sell that helps in the pollination process. Baseball plant is a long-lived perennial plant.

Baseball plant

Image Source: Wikimedia

8. Desert Ironwood

This desert plant looks like the sweet pea tree and has leaves and branches, unlike other cacti. It is named after the bluish grey colour of its stem and leaves and is predominantly found in the Sonoran desert of North America. This plant has a slow growth rate and has a long lifespan of over 1500 years. To conserve water and to protect itself from the scorching heat, it sheds its leaves during the summer months and bears flowers in early spring. The endangered plant known as palo fierro in Spanish provides habitat and resources to many wildlife animals.

Desert Ironwood

Image Source: Wikimedia

9. Silver Torch Cactus

This is one of the strangest desert plants found in the cold deserts of Bolivia and Argentina and is named after its distinctive shape and appearance. This plant grows in a tall column up to 3 meters high and has a dense covering of long silver coloured thorns which make the plant appear silver. This cactus blooms in late summer and has bright red coloured flowers.

Silver Torch Cactus

Image Source: Jim, the Photographer( Flickr)

10. Wollemi Pine

This extremely rare desert plant is known as a living fossil since it belongs to a family of gymnosperms that is more than 200 million years old and is one of the last surviving members of the family. It is found only in the deserts of Australia and bears cones to reproduce. All plants have both male and female cones and a thick stem that is used to store water. This plant can survive both extremely hot and extremely cold temperatures that are found in the desert.

Wollemi Pine

Image Source: Wikimedia

Desert plants are truly wonders of nature as they are the only type of plants that have adapted to such an extreme that they have given up leaves – a characteristic feature of almost all plants – in favour of thorns. Some of these plants have evolved to have a strange shape or colour and it serves a specific purpose like protecting from the harsh weather, attracting pollinators and keeping animals at bay.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top