自然

十大致命而迷人的食虫植物

罗里杜拉·戈尔戈尼亚

植物占据了生命的五个王国之一。 植物通常自己做食物并且是不动的(不考虑生长),但你有没有想过植物是肉食性的。 是的,你没看错——食虫植物。 这些也被称为食虫植物。 著名的英国博物学家查尔斯·达尔文于 2 年 1875 月 XNUMX 日在伦敦出版了《食虫植物》一书。

食虫植物从猎物中获取大部分营养。 它们通常以昆虫和其他节肢动物为食。 这些植物在稀薄的土壤酸性沼泽和岩石露头中生长的独特特性以及它们在缺氮环境中茁壮成长的能力使它们与其他植物物种不同。

真正的食肉动物独立起源于五种不同的开花植物,包括至少 583 个物种的分类。 它们通过吸收可用的营养物质来引诱、诱骗和杀死猎物。 发现了 5 种诱捕机制:陷阱陷阱、蝇纸陷阱、捕捉陷阱、膀胱陷阱和龙虾锅陷阱。 我想向您展示这些食虫植物的 10 个属:

食肉植物

1. 滨田猪笼草

滨田猪笼草是苏拉威西岛的一种热带猪笼草。 这种植物的特点是有一个内室,陷阱陷阱可以用花蜜贿赂捕食者来吸引猎物。 这些猪笼草的衬里涂有蜡片,使昆虫落入捕虫笼时很滑。 在投手内,消化酶被分泌以将猎物分解成植物可吸收的形式。

这些植物原产于华南、印度尼西亚、马来西亚、菲律宾,包括向西到马达加斯加和塞舌尔的地区; 向南到澳大利亚和新喀里多尼亚; 向北到印度和斯里兰卡。 该物种喜欢在低地或高地品种中繁衍生息,具体取决于它们距海平面的高度。 猪笼草的名称于 1737 年首次出版于 卡罗勒斯·林奈 Hortus Clifortianus。

相关新闻: 10年发现的2018个新植物物种

滨田猪笼草

相关新闻: 世界上生长最快的 10 种植物和树木

图片来源: 维基媒体

2. 柳珊瑚

Roridula gorgonias 是一种原食性植物,原产于南非。 这种植物会分泌粘液,这是一种用来诱捕昆虫的粘性物质,具有极强的粘性、持久性和耐水性。 这些植物在其中培育共生昆虫,有助于消化猎物以获取其营养。 另外,请阅读 奇异的沙漠植物.

食虫植物以其美丽的粉红色花朵和粘稠的叶子而闻名。 多年生灌木可以长到1m或更长,叶子互生而狭窄,长到120mm长,在树枝的尖端看起来很拥挤。 叶子上覆盖着粘毛,可以捕捉许多小昆虫,但很少能捕捉到黄蜂和蜜蜂等大型昆虫。

罗里杜拉·戈尔戈尼亚

图片来源: 维基媒体

3. 捕蝇草

Dionaea 是一种肉食性植物,生长在美国东海岸的北卡罗来纳州和南卡罗来纳州。 这种植物的结构有一个像叶子一样的球茎,在它们的内表面上覆盖着被触发的毛发。 一旦昆虫或蜘蛛接触到毛发并分泌消化酶来消化猎物,陷阱就会关闭。 一旦消化完成,陷阱就会重新打开。

这种肉食植物需要一周的时间来消化较大的昆虫。 当猎物被捕获时,捕蝇器会以人类胃功能的方式分泌液体。 植物物种的消化系统很慢,大约需要 10 天才能消化昆虫并重新打开它的陷阱。 植物物种无法消化外骨骼,当它再次进入陷阱时它会溢出。 该物种生活在湿度为 80% 的沼泽状沿海地区。

捕蝇草

图片来源: 维基媒体

4. 葡萄球菌

Utricularia 也被称为膀胱草。 它们生长在除南极洲以外的每个大陆的淡水和潮湿土壤中。 这些食虫植物通过类似膀胱的陷阱捕捉小生物,并随着水的移动产生从膀胱内部到外部的压力。 一旦动物接触到门表面的刷毛,陷阱就会迅速打开,一股水流将猎物吸进里面。 门关上了,动物被消化了。 你也会喜欢阅读 地球上的有毒植物.

食虫植物约有 230 种,大部分在淡水和潮湿的土壤中作为陆生或水生物种茁壮成长。 除了南极洲以外的每个大陆都可以看到它,主要是为了它们的花而种植的,类似于金鱼草和兰花。 植物物种的诱捕器可以长到 0.2 毫米到 1.2 厘米,并且有通常较大的膀胱,可以以水蚤甚至小鱼为食。

狸藻

图片来源: 维基媒体

5. 加利福尼亚达林顿尼亚

Darlingtonia californica 也被称为加州猪笼草或眼镜蛇百合,分布于北加州和俄勒冈州。 眼镜蛇百合这个名字的由来是因为这种植物的管状叶子类似于一条正在饲养的眼镜蛇和带有蛇牙的分叉叶子。 植物内的特殊结构增加了猎物进入陷阱寻找食物的机会,扇状附属物具有花蜜腺,有助于猎物进入内部捕虫笼,以便植物杀死猎物并进行消化过程。

说到外观,肉食植物有管状叶子,含有可以消化被困昆虫的液体。 叶子的末端有罩子,并有一个圆形开口,昆虫可以通过它飞入罩子。 该植物于 1841 年由植物学家 William D. Brackenridge 在沙斯塔山发现。 后来在 1853 年,约翰·托里 (John Torrey) 描述了它,他以费城植物学家威廉·达灵顿 (William Darlington) (1782-1863) 的名字命名了达灵顿属 (Darlingtonia)。

加州达灵顿尼亚

图片来源: 维基媒体

6. 圆叶茅膏菜

圆叶茅膏菜也被称为圆叶茅膏菜,遍布北美、韩国和日本。 这种植物的叶子看起来像一个覆盖着粘液的莲座丛,里面装满了一种含糖物质来吸引猎物并分泌消化酶来获取营养。 另外被称为 Sundews 是肉食性植物,它们是厚厚的胶状粘液,称为粘液,用于捕获和消化猎物。 该物种至少有 188 种,除南极洲外,遍布全球各地。 有些年份可以长到两年或更多年,但是,休息的只能长一年并通过种子繁殖。

圆叶茅膏菜

图片来源: 维基媒体

7. 比布利斯

Byblis 通常被称为彩虹植物,通常生长在西澳大利亚。 这些物种的叶子表面覆盖着腺毛并分泌粘液物质以吸引猎物。 这些叶子是秘密的消化酶,因为它们配备了无柄的腺体。

比比利斯

图片来源: 维基媒体

8. 阿尔德罗万达水泡

Aldrovanda 也被称为在欧洲、亚洲、非洲和澳大利亚发现的水车植物。 诱捕机制类似于捕蝇草,由两个在水下折叠在一起的裂片组成。 一旦昆虫触发毛发并且主要以无脊椎动物为食,陷阱会在 10-20 毫秒内关闭。 我们还希望您阅读 有效的药用植物.

水泡藻

图片来源: 维基媒体

9. 毛囊头孢菌

Cephalotus follicularis 是一种澳大利亚猪笼草,在澳大利亚西南部的分布非常小。 诱捕机制类似于猪笼草。 陷阱的入口有一个尖刺排列,允许猎物进入并阻碍其返回,入口的盖子防止雨水进入水罐,从而稀释消化酶以吸收猎物的营养。

滤泡头孢

图片来源: 维基媒体

10. 西罗花

Brocchinia reducta 原产于委内瑞拉、巴西、哥伦比亚和圭亚那。 这些物种形成具有重叠叶子的储水杯。 这些叶子上覆盖着松散的蜡质鳞片,可以反射紫外线。 大多数昆虫被紫外线引诱,此外这些水杯散发出甜美的气味,吸引猎物并最终将它们淹死。 消化酶和细菌有助于消化过程,营养物质被叶子吸收。

西兰花

图片来源: 维基媒体

这些食肉植物确实由一些主要从昆虫和节肢动物而非食人动物中获取营养的捕食性物种组成。 但是,最好远离这些植物气味并避免麻烦!

地球和世界是一个你可以找到我们地球的不同已知和未知事实的地方。 该网站还将涵盖与世界有关的事物。 本网站致力于为知识和娱乐目的提供事实和信息。

联系我们

如果您有任何建议和疑问,您可以通过以下详细信息与我们联系。 我们将很高兴收到您的来信。

markofotolog [at] gmail.com

亚马逊披露

EarthNWorld.com 是 Amazon Services LLC Associates 计划的参与者,该计划是一项附属广告计划,旨在为网站提供一种通过广告和链接到 Amazon.com 来赚取广告费的方法。 Amazon、Amazon 徽标、AmazonSupply 和 AmazonSupply 徽标是 Amazon.com, Inc. 或其附属公司的商标。

到达顶点

Nature

Top 10 Deadly And Fascinating Carnivorous Plants

Roridula Gorgonias

Advertisement

Plants occupy one of the five kingdoms of life. Plants usually make their own food and are immovable (not considering on growth) but have you ever thought of plants which are carnivorous. Yes, you read it right – Carnivorous plants. These are also called Insectivorous plants. The famous British naturalist Charles Darwin has published a book, Insectivorous plants on 2nd July 1875 in London.

Carnivorous plants obtain most of their nutrients from its prey. They feed typically on insects and other arthropods. The unique characteristic of these plants to grow in thin soil acidic bogs and rock outcroppings and their ability to thrive in nitrogen deficient environment makes them different from another plant species.

True carnivore has originated independently in five different orders of flowering plants and includes classification of at least 583 species. They entice, decoy and kill their prey by absorbing available nutrients. There are 5 trapping mechanisms found: Pitfall traps, Flypaper traps, Snap traps, Bladder traps and Lobster-pot traps. I would like to show you 10 genera of these carnivorous plants species:

Carnivorous Plants

1. Nepenthes Hamata

Nepenthes Hamata is a tropical pitcher plant in Sulawesi. This plant is characterized by an internal chamber, pitfall traps which attract prey with nectar bribes within the pitcher. The linings of these pitcher plants are coated with wax flakes which make it slippery for insects to fall into the pitcher. Within the pitcher, digestive enzymes are secreted to break down the prey into an absorbable form for the plant.

Advertisement

These plants are native to South China, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines including areas of westward to Madagascar and Seychelles; southward to Australia and New Caledonia; and northward to India and Sri Lanka. The species love to thrive in lowland or highland varieties depending on how high these are from sea level. The name Nepenthes was first published in 1737 in Carolus Linnaeus’s Hortus Cliffortianus.

Nepenthes Hamata

Related: Top 10 Fastest Growing Plants And Trees In The World

Image Source: Wikimedia

2. Roridula Gorgonias

Roridula gorgonias is a protocarnivorous plant native of South Africa. This plant secretes mucilage, an adhesive substance to trap insects is extremely sticky, long lasting and water tolerant. These plants cultivate symbiotic insects within them which aids in digesting the prey to receive its nutrients. Also, read about strange desert plants.

The Carnivorous Plant known for its beautiful pink flowers and sticky leaves. The perennial shrub can grow upto 1 m or more and leaves are alternate and narrow and grow upto 120 mm long and seems crowded at the tips of branches. The leaves are covered with sticky hairs and can catch many small insects, however, rarely they can catch large insects such as wasps and bees.

Roridula Gorgonias

Image Source: Wikimedia

3. Venus Flytrap

Dionaea is a carnivorous plant which grows on the East coast of the United States in North and South Carolina. This plant is structured to have a bulb like leaves which are covered with triggered hairs on their inner surfaces. The trap closes as soon as an insect or spider comes in contact with the hairs and secrets digestive enzyme to digest the prey. The trap reopens as soon as the digestion completes.

The carnivorous plant takes a week for larger insects to digest. When the prey is captured the flytrap secretes a liquid in a way that a human stomach functions. The digestive system of the plant species is slow it will take approximately 10 days to digest the insect and reopen its trap again. The plant species cannot digest exoskeletons and it will spill out when it will the traps again. The species lives in bog-like, coastal areas with 80% humidity.

Venus Flytrap

Image Source: Wikimedia

4. Utricularia Vulgaris

Utricularia also known to be the bladderworts. They grow in fresh water and wet soil around every continent except Antarctica. These carnivorous plants capture small organisms by means of bladder-like traps and generates a pressure from the interior to the exterior of the bladders as the water moves. As soon as the animal contacts the bristles at the surface of the door, the trap opens quickly and a gush of water sucks the prey inside. The door is closed and the animal is digested. You will also love reading about poisonous plants on Earth.

The carnivorous plant has about 230 species and mostly thrive in fresh water and wet soil as terrestrial or aquatic species. It can be seen in every continent except Antarctica and cultivated mostly for their flowers and resembles snapdragons and orchids. The trap of plant species can grow from 0.2 mm to 1.2 cm and have bladders that are usually larger and can feed on water fleas and even tiny fish.

Utricularia Vulgaris

Image Source: Wikimedia

5. Darlingtonia Californica

Darlingtonia californica also was known as California Pitcher Plant or Cobra Lily and is found in Northern California and Oregon. The name Cobra Lily is derived because tubular leaves of this plant resemble a rearing cobra and forked leaf with that of serpent’s fangs. The specialized structures within the plant increase the chances of prey to enter the trap for finding food and fan like appendages have nectar glands which aid in the movement of the prey into the internal pitcher chamber for the plant to kill the prey and carry out its digestion process.

Talking about the appearance, the carnivorous plant has tubular leaves and contains fluid that can digest trapped insects. The end of the leaf is hooded and have a circular opening through which insects can fly into the hood. The plant was discovered in 1841 by the botanist William D. Brackenridge at Mount Shasta. Later in 1853, it was described by John Torrey who named the genus Darlingtonia after the Philadelphian botanist William Darlington (1782–1863).

Darlingtonia Californica

Image Source: Wikimedia

6. Drosera Rotundifolia

Drosera rotundifolia also was known as round-leaved sundew and is found across North America, Korea, and Japan. The leaves of this plants look like a rosette covered with mucilage, loaded with a sugary substance to attract the prey and secretes digestive enzymes to obtain nutrients. Additionally known as Sundews are carnivorous plants that are thick gluey goo called mucilage to trap and digest their prey. The species has at least 188 species and found everywhere on the globe except Antarctica. There are few years that can grow upto two or more years, however, rest can grow for only one year and reproduce by seed.

Drosera Rotundifolia

Image Source: Wikimedia

7. Byblis

Byblis commonly called as Rainbow plants and usually grow in Western Australia. The surface of the leaves of these species is covered with glandular hairs and secrets mucilage substance to attract the prey. These leaves are secrets digestive enzymes because they are equipped with sessile glands.

Byblis

Image Source: Wikimedia

8. Aldrovanda Vesiculosa

Aldrovanda also called as Waterwheel plant found in Europe, Asia, Africa and Australia. The trapping mechanism is like the Venus flytrap and consists of two lobes which fold together underwater. The trap closes in 10 – 20 milliseconds as soon as the insects trigger the hairs and mostly feeds on invertebrates. We also want you to read about effective medicinal plants.

Aldrovanda Vesiculosa

Image Source: Wikimedia

9. Cephalotus follicularis

Cephalotus follicularis is an Australian pitcher plant and has a very small distribution in Southwestern Australia. Trapping mechanism is similar to the pitcher plants. The entrance of the trap has a spiked arrangement which allows the prey inside and hinders its return and the lid of the entrance prevents the rainwater into the pitcher which dilutes the digestive enzymes to absorb the nutrients from the prey.

Cephalotus follicularis

Image Source: Wikimedia

10. Brocchinia Reducta

Brocchinia reducta is native to Venezuela, Brazil, Colombia, and Guyana. These species form water storing cup with its overlapping leaves. These leaves are coated with loose, waxy scales and are reflective of Ultraviolent light. Most of the insects are lured by Ultraviolet and besides these water cups emits a sweet odour which attracts the prey and eventually drowns them. The digestive enzymes and bacteria aids in digestion process and nutrients are absorbed by the leaves.

Brocchinia Reducta

Image Source: Wikimedia

These carnivorous plants do consist of some predatory species that primarily derive its nutrients from insects and arthropods but not man-eaters. However, it is good to be away from taking a close sniff of these plant odours and avoiding the trouble!!!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top